Go to the site's main content
En sångsolist står i en rödorange eld-liknande scenografi, sträcker handen ut mot betraktaren och sjunger


Festive season opening with audience choice.

  • Length

    1 hr 20 mins, no intermission.

  • When

    15 Aug 2021

  • Where

    Göteborg Opera, Main Stage

  • Genre


  • Language


  • Price

    Free with booked ticket

  • Accessibility

Oh, how we have longed for you, our audience! As we begin our exuberant new season, we do so together: the programme for this concert includes your choices. You may choose to see the concert here in the auditorium, or live streamed at home. Please note that both alternatives require a ticket.

During the spring, we invited the public to vote for three favourite arias from a list of eight from the classic opera repertoire, to be performed by our soloists. The three most popular suggestions will be performed at the concert and the winners will be revealed then.

In addition to these, you will also be able to enjoy Johann Strauss’ overture to Die Fledermaus and the delightful Adagietto from Mahler’s fifth symphony, which became a megahit thanks to Visconti’s film Death in Venice.

Sofie Asplund excels once again in portraying the refined coquette Zerbinetta in Richard Strauss’ opera Ariadne auf Naxos, a role renowned for its demading coloraturas and one that proved a sensational success for Sofie here in 2018.

The conductor is the “outrageously talented” (Opernwelt) Israeli-American Yoel Gamzou, now based in Austria.

“I am very happy to come back to Göteborg and work with this fantastic orchestra again. Especially after all these long months of darkness, where we were unable to do what we love and need most, which is sharing music with our audience, this programme is particularly suitable for the occasion. All the main pieces in the concert are connected in a way - they all deal with the basic needs and feelings of the human condition. From love and death in Mahler, through social structures in the Fledermaus Ouverture, the lyricism of yearning in Schubert's Fantasy, up to Zerbinetta’s monologue on pain, solitude and passion - she summarises it so appropriately: ’Always a new, strange surprise: that a heart doesn’t even understand itself…’. What a wonderful occasion to go through a journey of so many different feelings and conditions - opening this season of hope and optimism.”

— Yoel Gamzou, conductor

Concert programme

Johann Strauss the Younger: Overture to the operetta Die Fledermaus

Audience choice #1, 2 and 3

Gustav Mahler: Adagietto from Symphony No. 5.

Richard Strauss: Zerbinetta’s aria “Großmächtige Prinzessin” from the opera Ariadne auf Naxos. Soloist: Sofie Asplund.

Franz Schubert: Fantasia for Violin, arranged for orchestra by Yoel Gamzou.